Ronald B. LeeDear friends,

On behalf of the Adelphi University Board of Trustees, I am pleased to welcome you to the 18th Annual President’s Gala.

As friends of Adelphi University, we are all together this evening to celebrate the powerful ways that an Adelphi experience helps students become the inspiring people they strive to be. This year, we accomplish this by honoring eight remarkable alumni who did just that.

Each of our honorees spent their undergraduate years on Adelphi’s campus and chose to return years later to commemorate their experiences by helping to secure it for future students. Their generosity is a hallmark of all Panthers whose lives are transformed by their time at Adelphi, much like my own.

I am delighted that tonight we can recognize Nicholas Papain ’74, J.D., and the Adelphi 7 Sisters— Lavida Allen ’72, Renaye Cuyler ’70, Charlotte Harris ’69, the late Diane Hazel ’69, Jacquelyn Lendsey ’71, Joyce Montague ’69 and Lorene Wilkerson ’69. Their stories of friendship and transformation will move you.

As you know, all net proceeds from the President’s Gala support endowed scholarships at Adelphi. Furthermore, the Adelphi University Board of Trustees is committed to matching all net proceeds raised this evening, dollar for dollar. Thanks to the generosity of good friends, supporters and alumni, we help carry on the University’s mission to provide our students with a world-class academic experience, and the opportunity to define their success—on campus, and into their futures.

Again, on behalf of my fellow trustees, thank you for celebrating this wonderful evening with us. We are immensely grateful for your continued generosity and support of Adelphi University.

Ronald B. Lee '67
Chairman, Board of Trustees
Adelphi University